“Community” – Painting With Scott

"Community" by Mollie Walker Freeman and Scott Freeman
“Community” is a painting Scott and I did live for a volunteer dinner for Loveland Museum Gallery this fall.

My husband, Scott, and I have both been doing live painting for years. He mostly does choreographed, perfectly-timed, planned-out paintings set to specific music. I, on the other hand, mostly do spontaneous painting to random music. I sometimes have a vague idea of what I will paint, but many times, I begin with almost no idea of what will appear as I put brush to canvas.

We recently teamed up for our very first live painting collaboration. The Loveland Museum Gallery invited us to do a piece for their annual volunteer appreciation dinner. We love our museum, and were happy for the opportunity. We enjoyed a lovely evening with the folks from the museum.

We also learned that it is possible for us to merge our ways of working. Partly planned, partly spontaneous, thought out but with lots of latitude – this painting was lots of fun to do!

Leave a comment